Get busy livin’ or get busy dyin’

IMG_3776

Today I was watching the TV series: “The Last Man on Earth” (which btw is ridiculously funny, Will Forte is a riot and a sexy H.U.N.K, beard or no beard) and in one of the episodes “The Shawshank Redemption” movie was brought up. It reminded me of Shawshank’s Andy Dufresne’s (Tim Robbins) when he says to Red (Morgan Freeman)  “It comes down to a simple choice, get busy living or get busy dying.”  Red has lived almost his whole life in prison and will be released soon on parole and Red is afraid of how he will survive in the world outside of prison.  The whole scene can be used for an analogy on life, or better yet, I’m using it as an analogy of my life, of the moment I’m on right now.  I’m in prison, that’s exactly how I feel, I’m in the prison of my job, and I’m really scared of taking the next step, or freeing myself from the security of a big bi-monthly paycheck.  And I do have a choice, I don’t think is simple, but its a choice I have to make, do I want stay in prison, or do I want to face reality, be honest with myself about how unhappy I am in my current situation, spit denial and fear in the face and do whatever the fuck I have to do to get busy living.

So I have been thinking a lot about what choices I have and what I want to do once I get out of my job prison. And I have a few ideas, I even started working towards developing these ideas, and this has gotten me in high spirits for the past two days.  I will discuss these ideas in upcoming posts.

Anyways, I think these fun things are signs that things are looking up:

Biking around DC sometimes can be adventure, you can run into tourists, Senators, even Hollywood stars, such as Shailene Woodley and Joseph Gordon Levitt filming the upcoming Snowden movie in front of the White House! (see pic above)

Also, HBO Now just started streaming on Apple TV! 1st month free!

Leave a comment